Rosenbaum, Coene win All-Star Game final vote

More news about: Pomona-Pitzer | Roger Williams
Roger Williams, Pomona-Pitzer athletics photos


All-time Final Vote winners

2011  Kai Massaquoi, Richard Stockton
Carl Hipp, Hamline
2012 Dylan Richter, Washington U.
Ralph Temgoua, St. Lawrence 
2013 Andrew Galow, Rhodes
Spencer Niekamp, Capital
2014 Dan Kornbaum, Augsburg
Brandon Gries, St. Norbert
2015 David Louison, St. Joseph's (Bklyn.)
Marcus Alipate, St. Thomas 
2016 Egzon Gjonbalaj, Brooklyn
Jordan Bolger, Concordia-Moorhead  
2017 Derek Hart, Clarkson
Johnathan Belton, Medaille 
2018 Dalton Myers, York (Pa.)
Ishimeal Nance, Penn State-Altoona
2019 Daniel Rosenbaum, Pomona-Pitzer
Austin Coene, Roger Williams

2019 voting results

Who should play in the Reese's NABC All-Star Game?

Austin Coene, Roger Williams
 (28753)   28%
Robert Duax, UW-Platteville
 (1661)   1%
Michael Gardner, Johns Hopkins
 (26293)   25%
Daniel Rosenbaum, Pomona-Pitzer
 (29995)   29%
Calvin Songster, Maryville (Tenn.)
 (816)   0%
Tyler Stenglein, Nazareth
 (7514)   7%
Justin Sutton, Medgar Evers
 (3100)   3%
Ryan Bruns, Ohio Northern
 (4367)   4%

Austin Coene's supporters came out right away, while Daniel Rosenbaum's rallied from a slow start to  help the pair each clinch a spot in the 2019 Reese’s® Division III College All-Star Game.

Coene and Johns Hopkins guard Michael Gardner jumped out to early advantages in the final vote for the NABC, but Daniel Rosenbaum's voters were on California time, and by the time the end of the first 24 hours voting came around, the Pomona-Pitzer guard made it a three-person race. Then, by Thursday morning, Rosenbaum had pulled away, leaving Coene and Gardner to battle it out for the second spot.

Gardner's supporters rallied and cut the lead to 2,500 votes with a little over an hour to go, but the Roger Williams crew made one final push to get Coene into the game, the annual All-Star game for Division III men's basketball seniors.

For the second year in a row, nore than 100,000 votes were cast in this year's fan vote.

The two will join a roster of nine other players on each side, to be announced after the national semifinal participants are determined with this weekend's games in the rounds of 16 and 8. Some of the players under consideration may have to be replaced if their team wins this weekend and plays in the Final Four. 

The NABC also named former Elizabethtown coach Bob Schlosser and former Ohio Northern coach Joe Campoli as the coaches of the two teams.

The game, which will be played on Saturday, March 16, at 4:30 p.m. ET is open to seniors who have completed their eligibility. The game will be streamed live from Allen County War Memorial Coliseum in Fort Wayne, Indiana, with a link available on will also announce the rest of the roster once it is available.