All-Region teams announced

St. Thomas' Kaitlin Langer, left, and Ohio Wesleyan's Nate Axelrod each led their teams to the Sweet 16 this season. photos

The 2015-16 All-Region teams have been announced.

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted multiple times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. There were 776 players nominated nationwide. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region. 

It's the 15th season has named All-Region teams.

The regional Rookie of the Year award honors the top freshman in each region, while also names a regional Coach of the Year.

Regions that have fewer than 40 Division III teams have two teams. The Northeast, which is nearly twice that size, has four teams, while all other regions have three teams. The regions, including the regional player of the year:

Men's Regions Women's Regions
Northeast: Joey Flannery, Babson Northeast: Michela North, Tufts
East: Kyle Richardson, Plattsburgh State East: Alexandra Leslie, Rochester
Atlantic: Will Fonseca, Staten Island Atlantic: Eireann Anastasi, DVU; and 
Kamari Talley, Rutgers-Camden
Middle Atlantic: Brendan Boken, Scranton Mid-Atlantic: Sarah Payonk, Scranton
South: Alex Graves, Lynchburg South: Jess Rheinheimer, Eastern Mennonite
Great Lakes: Nate Axelrod, Ohio Wesleyan Great Lakes: Sydney Moss, Thomas More
Central: Hunter Hill, Augustana; and
Luke Johnson, Benedictine
Central: Katie McDaniels, Wheaton (Ill.)
West: Andre Norris, Dubuque West: Kaitlin Langer, St. Thomas