2017 D3hoops.com All-Region teams announced

d3photography.com photos

The 2016-17 D3hoops.com All-Region teams have been announced.

Players were nominated for these awards by the Sports Information Directors at the various schools, who were contacted multiple times as the season wound down to remind them to make their players eligible. There were 723 players nominated nationwide. The ballot was then made available to SIDs, who voted for a predetermined number of players in their region. 

It's the 16th season D3hoops.com has named All-Region teams.

The regional Rookie of the Year award honors the top freshman in each region, while D3hoops.com also names a regional Coach of the Year.

Regions that have fewer than 40 Division III teams have two teams. The Northeast, which is nearly twice that size, has four teams, while all other regions have three teams. The regions, including the regional player of the year:

Men's Regions Women's Regions
Northeast: Joey Flannery, Babson Northeast: Ali Doswell, Amherst
East: Sam Borst-Smith, Rochester East: Alexandra Leslie, Rochester
Atlantic: Thomas Bonacum, Ramapo Atlantic: Katie Sire, Montclair State
Middle Atlantic: Steven Weidlich, Susquehanna Mid-Atlantic: Sara Tarbert, Stevenson
South: Nathaniel Jack, Hardin-Simmons South: Monica Holguin, Trinity (Texas)
Great Lakes: Harrison Blackledge, Hope Great Lakes: Lisa Murphy, Carnegie Mellon
Central: Ty Sabin, Ripon Central: Katie McDaniels, Wheaton (Ill.)
West: Tim Howell, Whitman West: Kaitlin Langer, St. Thomas