Pointers win third national tite

UW-Stevens Point and its fans celebrated a third Division III title.
Photo by Ryan Tipps, D3sports.com

UW-Stevens Point went on a 22-5 run in the second half to turn a 54-44 deficit into a 66-59 advantage and went on to win the 2010 Division III men's basketball national championship, 78-73 over Williams.

Matt Moses, the Final Four's Most Outstanding Player, scored a game-high 22 points and Jared Jenkins added 17, but it was Dan Tillema who came off the bench for the Pointers to spark the run with three 3-pointers. He finished with 15 points.

"All I can say is we had tremendous courage at about that 10-minute mark when we fought back and put ourselves in position to reach our dreams," UW-Stevens Point coach Bob Semling said after the game. "To be able to finish this game and finish this season with a victory ... I’m extremely proud. I can’t say enough about these guys, the courage of my young men.  I can’t be more proud up here sitting in front of you guys."

For Moses, the win fulfilled the destiny of his senior class, Evans Clinchy writes. Moses' class came to Stevens Point the year after the Pointers won their second of back-to-back titles in 2005.

Joining Moses and Jenkins on the All-Tournament were Blake Schultz and Troy Whittington from Williams and Tyler Sanborn from Guilford.

Before the national title game, D3hoops.com announced its 2010 All-American team, with Carthage's Steve Djurickovic as the Player of the Year and Derek Raridon of North Central (Ill.) as the Rookie of the Year. After the game, Pointers coach Bob Semling was named the D3hoops.com Coach of the Year.

The day got started with a barn-burner as well, with the NABC Division III senior All-Stars battling to a 109-107 East victory in overtime. Evans Clinchy blogged live courtside as well.